What are NATO Rounds?

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Our Associate portal can be found here

The name NATO rounds refers to a set of created standard bullets to allow the armed forces of the countries that make up the NATO force to have standardized ammunition.

The idea behind the standardization was to allow NATO forces the understanding, sharing and ensures the easy fit of ammunition. 

Types of NATO Rounds 

NATO generally standardized only four different types of ammunition across the NATO forces. And those four types are.

  • 9×19 parabellum
  • 5.56x45mm
  • 7.62x51mm
  • .50 BMG

The 9×19 Parabellum

 These are standard 9mm rounds used all over the world in many handguns. Popular handguns include the Beretta 92F, Sig Sauer P226, Glock 17, and 19 among other lots of 9mm chambered pistols. Today, almost every fighting force issues a standard 9mm chambered pistol to their soldiers. The 9×19 parabellum is also used in some Sub Machine Guns that include the versatile and popular H&K MP5.

See our article on 9mm vs 9x19mm for more information on the performance of these rounds

The 5.56×45

 These NATO rounds are also popular in the world especially the US army and the UK armed forces. Most forces within NATO are issued with these special rounds and they are chambered for popular guns such as the M4 or the G36. 

You may want to check out the comparison between 5.56 and 9mm rounds for an exclusive review on their performance.

The 7.62×51

 These rounds are mostly used in rifles and machine guns. They are versatile and have many advantages in power and trajectory. An example of a battle rifle that uses the 7.62 x 45 is the FN SCAR-H.

The .50BMG

 These rounds are extremely popular and NATO forces prefer their use on large fully automat